Posted by: Maggie Ross | February 5, 2011

Birthdays and other adventures

Well, Thursday in the chemo room I left my teens behind: I’m now a survivor of 20 treatments and still, to my mother’s great relief, have a full head of hair…even if it is thinning just a tad.

Friday marked another special passage: I turned 61. That means it’s just under a year ago that I received my diagnosis. Everything that lay in store seemed bleak and murky then; I didn’t know if I’d see Christmas, another birthday, another spring. Now I find myself feeling positive and energetic, making new friends and surrounded by family, working on some great songs, looking forward to every tomorrow. As a person who, perhaps perversely, believes that a total life upheaval every decade or so can be as refreshing as it is scary, I’m embracing all that happens. I received a Facebook message today from Tammy Brown, a Nashville friend and cancer survivor, saying, “B-days are more special nowadays, huh.” I couldn’t agree more, Tammy, and there’s no one I’d rather be agreeing with.

Let me take a second to thank everyone who has extended birthday wishes here and on Facebook. I’m quite overwhelmed by the outpouring.

Some other news on the continuing adventure: Maggie and I will be moving into our own apartment in March. We’re not going far, trading Quispapmsis for neighboring Rothesay, no more than a five or six minute drive from where we are. Again the generousity of family and friends has been incredible. We’ve been offered all sorts of housewares and furniture, leaving very little to be purchased.

I’ll sign off now, feeling very much the happy birthday boy. Again, my deep thanks to all who read this blog for your kindness and well wishes. It’s very much appreciated and more than a little healing, I’m sure.


Responses

  1. Happy Birthday to us Larry ๐Ÿ™‚
    Bekka gave me the best Birthday weekend ever!!!
    Her video of your ‘They oughta write on song about that’ won her a place in the finals of the Varieties Got Talent BC!!!! Bekka and 10 other finalists BC wide performed at the Red Robinson Theatre on our Birthday. Ahhhhhh! What a night! Stellar performances from so many talented young people. She did fantastic! she did not take the over all 1st place but wow she earned her whole family a free mini vacation in Vancouver… she was just lovely Larry
    I thought you and Maggie would be just as proud as we are…
    I know your Birthday will bring a wonderful year to follow ๐Ÿ™‚
    We look forward to the day that brings us together for tea…
    xoxoxo
    Best Birthday wishes and hearts form
    D and Bekka
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi Larry,

    A belated happy birthday to you. Mine was not long before yours. I have 3 years on you. I wish you all the success in the world on all your current endeavors, but most of all I wish you continued good health. Your outlook on life is an inspiraton to many I’m sure. I look forward to working witn you again one of these days. My best to Maggie.

    Chet

  3. Have Maggie email me the new address. I will have something for you guys!
    So glad you are doing well. I pray for you and others who fight this battle everyday. ~P

  4. Dear Larry,
    First – Happy Birthday. I had no idea all this was going on in your life. I was inspired reading your post and are keeping both you and Maggie close in prayer. Much love- Renee and Tom

  5. One of my friends was whinning a tad about bds and I said that although I did not celebrate mine (superstitious), I had worked very hard to have them so never complained. Now with the heart condition if I wasn’t superstitious I’d brag.

    I have one year on you
    kp

  6. Hi Larry & Maggie:

    Just a note to say Happy Birthday, Larry. Glad to hear that things are going well. All the best to you and Maggie and good luck on your move into your new apartment. We appreciate and look forward to your updates!

    Take Care,
    Dave & Rose
    Frozen North Music


Leave a Reply

Categories