Posted by: Maggie Ross | November 7, 2010

Cool video about Saint John

Hey gang,

No health reports this time. All is well, next chemo is happening this coming Thursday.

I seldom say much about this place where we’ve chosen to live. Right now the main thing I’m inclined to say is, When is this damn rain gonna stop!? Lots of the wet stuff in recent days. In fact the newspaper reported the other day that the entire November quota of precipitation would come down this weekend. The area is also famous for fog and for harsh winters. We don’t much care for any of that!

But Saint John is a quirky, interesting place. Very rich in history. Canada’s first incorporated city in Canada’s only officially bilingual province. Back in the early days Saint John was famous for its shipbuilding and all-year port. It was a thriving place that rivaled Toronto in terms of industry, population and promise. Unfortunately the shipbuilding is gone now. The main industries are owned by the Irving family, one of Canada’s major dynasties, and include an oil refinery and a pulp and paper mill…in other words, operations that spew nasty vapors and foul odors into the atmosphere (all of which we’re spared out here in Quispamsis). The city of Saint John has less than 70,000 residents and the population is decreasing. The province is something like eight billion in debt. All is not rosy in The Port City.

And yet…there is magic here. Interesting, gifted people with big hearts and marvelous senses of humor are everywhere. Some wonderful art is being produced. Having said all this, I would urge you to take a look at this video that was forwarded our way this morning. It runs eight minutes and has some great images, songs and factoids. It opened my eyes to a few things. Certainly worth looking at.

The three original songs you’ll hear (not counting a jazzy version of “After You’ve Gone” which dates back to 1918) are by Babette Hayward, whom I’ve yet to meet, Clinton Charlton (we’re currently scheduling a co-write), and Mike Biggar, whose name I’ve mentioned before. I spent some time with Mike this afternoon listening to the masters of his just-completed Christmas CD, on which he and I have two co-writes. I also played guitar on one track and sang some bass background parts. I’ve had a great time and the songs are sounding terrific. Mike sings his heart out. I love being busy with music again and need to find more projects like this.

Anyway, have a look and listen to the video. Then you’ll be able to impress your friends with your deep knowledge of Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada, a subject that I’m certain constantly arises.


Responses

  1. Thanks for the video Larry. Very interesting indeed. I’ve been in the area once, or at least I think it was the area. Had a stop in Nova Scotia on a cruise that went northern route and ended in Montreal. It’s been a while since that voyage but I remember the city. I had a real nice time walking the streets. Rich in history.

    Chet

  2. Thanks for the video Larry. Great Canadian History lesson for a wonderful part of our Country.
    We will be driving across Canada this comming August…interested in being our tour guide for the day?
    xoxo
    Looks like we have much to be thankful for next Thursday as well…glad to hear you are feeling well.
    Bekka sends her hugs as do I.
    Love to you and Maggie
    xo
    Deanna and Bekka

    • I’d love to be your tour guide…but please tell me it will be for mor than a day! Bekka and I need to write some songs.

  3. Hi Larry. I really enjoyed the video. Thanks for sharing. Glad things are going okay in N.B. and you’re writing a lot. I hope to hear some of it on the air waves soon. Take care of yourself. Hi Maggie. John.


Leave a Reply

Categories