Posted by: Maggie Ross | September 17, 2010

Any Port in a Storm

Hello friends,

Been a while since my last blog. The big news on the healing front is that I received my 11th chemo treatment yesterday, administered through my brand new chest port, installed one day earlier. No more PICC lines, midlines or IV locks–and all associated blood clots and infections, let’s hope. Fairly simple out-patient procedure, takes an hour or so under light anesthesia which will either keep you in a “twilight” buzz, still conscious, or you may drift off as I seem to have done through most of it. Two days later there’s a little soreness around my chest but my arms are absolutely unencumbered for the first time in a long while. People tell me these ports can last a lifetime.

And you gotta love the name…Power Port! Like some super hero device in an oncological comic book.

My mother enjoyed her 12 day visit; she’s now back in Medicine Hat reunited with her dog, Honey, and her recliner chair that all but propels her into perpendicularity. She’s much happier now that she’s seen I’m doing well.

On other fronts, I seem to have three singles in some sort of rotation in the CanCon world. Francelle Maria’s “What I Meant To Say” is starting to pick up adds (http://www.francellemaria.ca); a singer out west named Tiffany Dowhan has released a pretty rockin’ version of “Can’t Hide In A Small Town”, written with Erinn Bates, which is similarly starting to move (listen at http://www.tiffanydowhan.com/music.html) and our friend Bobby Wills’ version of “Thank God For Second Chances,” released in May to a rather disappointing initial response is continuing to receive steady airplay in some areas. It’s another Erinn co-write and a song I really believe in. You can take a listen at http://www.myspace.com/bobbywills, and it’s available on iTunes.

Feeling good today, looking forward to treatment #12 in two weeks!


Responses

  1. Counting on the Power Port to propel you to a particularly positive post-chemo penchant for writing more pretty popular songs. I am loving the LWC CDs as are my lucky friends who got copies. So glad to hear of their recent activity.
    Blessings and best to you and Maggie. Thank you for keeping us all posted!

  2. We are so greatful that you have finally recieved your Power Port…
    as always you and Maggie are in our prayers…your so positive and strong Larry …you give my family strength and have brought me personally closer to my faith again…one can lose sight of these things when one dose’nt understand some of life’s ways…
    So, Thank you for you
    xoxoxoxox

  3. Larry & Maggie,

    This blog is wonderful and so inspiring. You are so positive and uplifting. Thinking of and praying for you both.

    Jody

  4. So great to hear it is all going so well!
    You are both very loved! Stay strong!
    Talk soon,
    Susie

  5. All of this is great news..I think of you often and I am always glad to hear when your doing well. The songs are great I saw Tiffany at the CCMA’s she is excited about her release. It is always a great feeling to hear your music being played…some of us may not be super stars but I believe we give life to your songs that you have taken so much pride in writing or co-writing…People still love “The Dancing Queen” and I performed “I Want To Find Me” at my CCMA Show case last weekend…always a crowd favorite! Hugs to you and Maggie!

    • I deeply appreciate any attention paid to my songs…cuts, live performances, whatever. Especially now that we’re out of Nashville and feeling a bit out of the loop. It feels great to know that the songs are finding their way to audiences.

      Great to hear from you, Shawna!

  6. Larry,

    Great to know that you’re still doing well and wow POWER PORT…..That’s awesome……congratulations on the co-writes they seem to be taking off here and there huh? and hey…..It might not be today or tomorrow but I am looking forward to “OUR” single charting and doing well once we get in the studio to cut it!

    Hope to hear from you soon

    Until then all the best

    Ivan

  7. HEY LARRY , GOOD TO HEAR YOU RECIEVED THE CHEST PORT FINALLY , SOUNDS LIKE YOUR SPIRITS ARE UP , KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK BROTHER TELL MAGGIE I SAID HELLO , STILL IN OUR PRAYERS , GLENN AND JOY BOWIE

  8. Hey Larry,
    I’m glad you are doing better. The chest ports always seem to have a good response. I’m happy they did that…you rest a lot easier.

    Know that I’m sending lots of positive thoughts and prayers your way.

    Hugs,
    Shar’n


Leave a Reply

Categories