Posted by: Maggie Ross | August 26, 2010

Here’s the latest…

Just to keep you good people up to date on every minute pulsation of my existence, here’s the latest.

I spent last night at Saint John Regional, yet again. Maggie took a call from my doctor’s office at 8:30 Wednesday morning explaining that, upon once more finding some nastiness in my blood cultures, she wanted me admitted for another jolt of antibiotics. Fortunately it was the briefest of visits. Since I was temporarily without a PICC line or any other port, they installed what’s known as a midline on my right forearm near the elbow. This line doesn’t probe as deep as the PICC but is considered reliable for short periods. I’m told that chemo treatment #10 will proceed as scheduled next Thursday.

And the real fun part, I’m now sporting a stylish black bag containing an antibiotic pump which needs to be refilled at the day clinic every day. And I will be thus accessorized for the next six weeks! Not crazy about that but at least I’m not in the hospital.

On another note…my 87-year-old mother Audrey arrives for a 12 day visit Monday at midnight. She hasn’t seen me since I was diagnosed so this will be an important visit. I hope it’s not too interrupted by my busy medical schedule. In any case, I’m looking forward to it.

LWC


Responses

  1. Hang in there Larry…and remember black goes with every little out fit you already own. 😉
    Enjoy your visit with your mother, i would love to have tea with you and maggie too…
    Bekka is working on a new song …she is cute , in it’s first “i’m not ready to sing it for you yet mom” stages…but Susie assures me there is some really great stuff to work with…lol
    I have been praying for you and Maggie to have peaceability and comfort in everyday day .
    We are looking forward to the day when you return to the West Coast for a visit…
    xoxoxo
    D n B


Leave a Reply

Categories